PDC and Pitch Change for Logic will have upgrade cost...?

Discussion of Apple Logic Pro, MainStage, GarageBand and all related applications
MarkH
Posts: 93
Joined: 21 Jun 2004, 11:50
Location: Phoenix, AZ.
Contact:

PDC and Pitch Change for Logic will have upgrade cost...?

Post by MarkH » 20 Jan 2005, 20:52

Typically Harmony Central is spot-on with their news. According to their update Apple claims they will charge a nominal fee for the update of Logic that includes GB2, PDC, and Pitch support. Tell me this is BS?

cheeky b
Posts: 348
Joined: 02 Jun 2003, 03:06
Location: Byron Bay, Australia

Post by cheeky b » 21 Jan 2005, 00:08

That has to be a mistake surely? If it's not then a) it's a joke and b) a nasty precedent to be resisted.[/i]
Logic, powercores, metric halo, midi stuff.

yorkio
Site Supporter
Posts: 243
Joined: 31 Aug 2003, 05:25
Location: Gateshead, UK

Post by yorkio » 21 Jan 2005, 00:20

cheeky b wrote:That has to be a mistake surely? If it's not then a) it's a joke and b) a nasty precedent to be resisted.
Just saw this post by Orren Merton on the LUG:
Before people start panicking and starting more doom and gloom
freakouts over the word "charge," let me explain how I understood this
"charge:"

This is intended to be a CD or DVD (I don't recall) upgrade, not
download. As such, the cost will be approximately the cost of shipping
and handling--like $19.95 or something like that, just to cover costs.
So, fingers crossed, it's not quite as bad as the Harmony Central story makes it sound... (I have to admit when I first read the HC story I had a brief Bruce Banner > Hulk moment!)

ndstephens
Site Supporter
Posts: 144
Joined: 11 Oct 2002, 21:59

Post by ndstephens » 21 Jan 2005, 00:23

i guess i don't understand why the update would have to come on a cd...

MarkH
Posts: 93
Joined: 21 Jun 2004, 11:50
Location: Phoenix, AZ.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » 21 Jan 2005, 00:27

ndstephens wrote:i guess i don't understand why the update would have to come on a cd...
Most likely because the main Logic file has to be replaced. If you look in your Apps folder the Logic file is rather large (over 200MB I think). It would be too large to have all registered Logic users download it, especially those on dial-up.

doktor242
Site Supporter
Posts: 225
Joined: 16 Feb 2003, 19:33
Location: New York City
Contact:

Post by doktor242 » 21 Jan 2005, 00:39

Maybe I should put off my upgrade until this is shipping, huh?
-d242

Dual 1.8ghz G5, 2gb ram | 12" Powerbook 867mhz 1152mb
Both running OS X 10.4.1
Gigaport AG | 40gb iPod
Logic Pro 6.4, Reason 3, Zebra, Cameleon, Reaktor 4, Traktor 2.6.2, Supatrigga
http://www.vektor7.com

mersisblue
Posts: 445
Joined: 04 Oct 2004, 21:24
Contact:

Post by mersisblue » 21 Jan 2005, 00:45

you know Im getting pretty mad about companies selling you a faulty product

and expecting you to pay them to compensate YOU !

I had a 001 , a fireface , a giga designs upgrade .....and now a software product ?

this would insult me more than the hardware RA's ( return authorizations )

Not to mention apple celebrates its biggest quarter and gives it company employs

a free shuffle ( nice gesture ) but then you can put a stamp on my letter to send

me a cd ?

any one elsed annoyed ?
thanx mersisblue

mersisblue
Posts: 445
Joined: 04 Oct 2004, 21:24
Contact:

Post by mersisblue » 21 Jan 2005, 00:50

also Will we need to keep both CDs ? or is this new CD a ;logic install cd that works with pdc and we trash the other one?
thanx mersisblue

EatMyShorts
Site Supporter
Posts: 529
Joined: 24 Feb 2003, 03:54
Location: Lagerdon, Great Beerland

Post by EatMyShorts » 21 Jan 2005, 01:00

....must buy everything ...must pay more.....must not moan....must ...

putte
Posts: 2590
Joined: 11 Oct 2002, 07:25
Location: stuttgart, germany
Contact:

Re: PDC and Pitch Change for Logic will have upgrade cost...

Post by putte » 21 Jan 2005, 02:20

MarkH wrote:they will charge a nominal fee for the update of Logic that includes GB2, PDC, and Pitch support
pitch support ??
what´s that?

putte

ajaysongs
Site Supporter
Posts: 47
Joined: 06 May 2003, 09:03
Location: UK

Post by ajaysongs » 21 Jan 2005, 02:38

Given the complexities of Logic's routing/buss system, is this effectively a new audio engine?
Quad i7 iMac 2TB + 8GB, OSX.6, MacBook Pro 2.4, 828, Logic Pro 9, Komplete 6, Cubase 4, Guitars, Bass + Banjo

mersisblue
Posts: 445
Joined: 04 Oct 2004, 21:24
Contact:

Post by mersisblue » 21 Jan 2005, 02:52

pitch support caught my eye as well
thanx mersisblue

pb-sh
Posts: 173
Joined: 30 Nov 2003, 14:01
Location: Approaching Bubble Metropolis
Contact:

Post by pb-sh » 21 Jan 2005, 02:55

They should offer a download for those that can handle it. 200mb is <30mins download for me, no big deal.

While 20 notes isn't a big deal the flipside is Logic has cost me just over £1,000 in the last 14 months (Buy L6 plat, upgrade to L6 Pro, upgrade to L7 Pro) and perhaps that should be taken into account...
A computer, some software, a bit of hardware, a wing and a prayer...

EatMyShorts
Site Supporter
Posts: 529
Joined: 24 Feb 2003, 03:54
Location: Lagerdon, Great Beerland

Post by EatMyShorts » 21 Jan 2005, 04:37

ajaysongs wrote:Given the complexities of Logic's routing/buss system, is this effectively a new audio engine?
I don't know I haven't seen the functional specs for Logic's internal routing and mixing algorithms, for any release. Hey has anyone? :wink:

IanS
Posts: 19
Joined: 17 Nov 2002, 12:44
Location: Somerset, U.K

Post by IanS » 21 Jan 2005, 06:19

At least it explains why the update was only .01. That decimal place is gonna cost. Just like the one in OSX!

Post Reply