Still using Logic 7?

Discussion of Apple Logic Pro, MainStage, GarageBand and all related applications
Post Reply
thunderkyss
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Apr 2013, 16:52

Still using Logic 7?

Post by thunderkyss » 19 Apr 2013, 16:58

Anyone here still using Logic 7?

If so, why?

If not, why not? What features or capabilities enticed you to move on?

User avatar
gdoubleyou
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Sep 2002, 16:09
Location: kirkland WA
Contact:

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by gdoubleyou » 20 Apr 2013, 15:24

The sequencer world is now 64bit, current machines have more than 3x as much cpu Power when compared to your G5.

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-co ... ktest.html

Software for PPC machines is scarce, little chance to upgrade to newer Plugins.

I have 2011 2GHz quad i7 but because Logic 9 supports multithreading my machine shows eight cores in the cpu meter, Logic9 is more CPU efficient than Logic 7 on a modern Mac.

8)
G-Dub

2GHz quad i7 MBP
Logic 9.1.8, LPX.0.4, OSX 10.8.5
Apollo Duo

ottoman42a
Site Supporter
Posts: 2686
Joined: 19 Jul 2004, 23:32
Twitter: ottoman42
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by ottoman42a » 21 Apr 2013, 13:50

Everything in 9 is better and more efficient and fast sooooo fast.
Have fun,
=Matt

Ottoble

"What's past is prologue" - Antonio
"...silence is not acoustic. It is a change of mind, a turning around." - John Cage

thunderkyss
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Apr 2013, 16:52

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by thunderkyss » 21 Apr 2013, 19:02

That all maybe true. However, if LogicPro7.2 was capable back in the day, it should still be as capable today. I bought it a long time ago, like the G5. Never used it much.

Most everything I've done has been on a hardware sequencer (Fantom-S) & a harddisk recorder (AW4416). That gear, plus my Korg EM-1, XV-5050, VK-7, & MV-8800 is still pretty capable (though the AW is on the blink, hence I'm messing around with LogicPro7.2 now) albeit with limitations.

I bought a Logic8 upgrade off eBay, should be here soon, so I'll at least be going to LogicPro8.

I also have an upgrade to LogicPro9, but I can't get my Mac Pro 1,1 to boot up. Once I do, I'll install 9 & will be up to date.

I was just wondering if there were any people out there who resisted the need to upgrade.

User avatar
gdoubleyou
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Sep 2002, 16:09
Location: kirkland WA
Contact:

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by gdoubleyou » 23 Apr 2013, 14:39

It all depends on your needs, if it's just a hobby you can stay where you are comfortable.

I have clients, and use mostly virtual instruments.

With the Kontakt libraries that I use going 64 bit was a must for stability.

I'm not on the bleeding edge but sort of in the middle, and I've gotten my return on my investment.

Learning Logic7 will help until you make your transition.

But we are in a world where my MBP is more powerful than the original 8 core Mac Pro!

If you are mostly doing audio, the G5 will work until.... it doesn't.

8)
G-Dub

2GHz quad i7 MBP
Logic 9.1.8, LPX.0.4, OSX 10.8.5
Apollo Duo

b4peace
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 May 2015, 19:32

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by b4peace » 11 Jul 2015, 16:31

Still using Powerbook G4 Tiger - just got Logic Express 7 and am a newbie although I learned Logic 7 many years ago in college and have some old Logic songs saved and want to work on them. But, a basic problem: having installed Logic Exp 7 - cannot hear audio playback of track through internal speakers even though the track monitor shows it's playing.

Something simple, no doubt - Any help appreciated :?

User avatar
gdoubleyou
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Sep 2002, 16:09
Location: kirkland WA
Contact:

Re: Still using Logic 7?

Post by gdoubleyou » 16 Jul 2015, 09:27

Make sure you have the correct output device selected, in the audio preferences.

Then select the proper output on the channel strip, and the master bus.

8)
G-Dub

2GHz quad i7 MBP
Logic 9.1.8, LPX.0.4, OSX 10.8.5
Apollo Duo

Post Reply