MidiPipe FAQ
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hi all,
Hopefully people are still checking this part of the forum!
I would like some technical help if possible using Midi-Pipe. I'd like to see if anyone is able to code this using the Apple Script.
I'm trying to find a cheap way of adapting the PRESONUS STUDIOLIVE 16.0.2 and give it some broadcast mixer capabilities.
It has some midi ports on the back (which hopefully sends out info on fader positions). If so I'd like to use that information to create a trigger to mute studio speakers when ANY of the first 4 fader positions are above absolute zero ∞.
The end result would be the cc information converted into note on info which is sent to this box here...http://www.canford.co.uk/Products/42-68 ... S-SWITCHER
I've made a start on the coding using testing I've done on pro tools (this has not been tested at all with the mixer). All I've managed to do is get it to send a note for each individual fader. I need it to be more cleverly coded so the script knows where each fader position is and cuts the speakers when any of the first 4 faders are up and unmutes them when the first 4 faders are down.
on runme(message)
tell application "Finder"
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 0) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 0) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 1) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 1) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 2) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 2) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 3) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 3) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
end tell
end runme
Thanks for anyone who can help me on this - happy to be told its impossible if it is.
Cheers
Hopefully people are still checking this part of the forum!
I would like some technical help if possible using Midi-Pipe. I'd like to see if anyone is able to code this using the Apple Script.
I'm trying to find a cheap way of adapting the PRESONUS STUDIOLIVE 16.0.2 and give it some broadcast mixer capabilities.
It has some midi ports on the back (which hopefully sends out info on fader positions). If so I'd like to use that information to create a trigger to mute studio speakers when ANY of the first 4 fader positions are above absolute zero ∞.
The end result would be the cc information converted into note on info which is sent to this box here...http://www.canford.co.uk/Products/42-68 ... S-SWITCHER
I've made a start on the coding using testing I've done on pro tools (this has not been tested at all with the mixer). All I've managed to do is get it to send a note for each individual fader. I need it to be more cleverly coded so the script knows where each fader position is and cuts the speakers when any of the first 4 faders are up and unmutes them when the first 4 faders are down.
on runme(message)
tell application "Finder"
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 0) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 0) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 1) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 1) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 2) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 2) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 3) and (item 3 of message >0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 39, 100)
if (item 1 of message = 176) and (item 2 of message = 3) and (item 3 of message = 0) then tell application "MidiPipe" to MIDISend toPort "MidiPipe AppleScript Input" withData (144, 41, 127)
end tell
end runme
Thanks for anyone who can help me on this - happy to be told its impossible if it is.
Cheers
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hi! Here's a spanish tutorial for MIDI Pipe and Logic, hope you like it!!
Hola! Acá hay un tutorial en español sobre MIDI Pipe y Logic, espero que les guste!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qRbcFu461E
Hola! Acá hay un tutorial en español sobre MIDI Pipe y Logic, espero que les guste!!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qRbcFu461E
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hello,
I am trying to do the following example with MidiPipe:
To map the C5 key on my midi keyboard, upon pressing it, to play both a C3 and C5 simultaneously, but to have C5 trigger several milliseconds after C3.
I got MidiPipe to have a C5 key play both a C3 and C5 simultaneously using Remap. However I need that several milliseconds delay until C3 is "pressed" ...
is this possible?
Thanks in advance for your help!
Shawn
I am trying to do the following example with MidiPipe:
To map the C5 key on my midi keyboard, upon pressing it, to play both a C3 and C5 simultaneously, but to have C5 trigger several milliseconds after C3.
I got MidiPipe to have a C5 key play both a C3 and C5 simultaneously using Remap. However I need that several milliseconds delay until C3 is "pressed" ...
is this possible?
Thanks in advance for your help!
Shawn
MIDIPipe Applescript Variables
After digging around on MacScripter, I found 10 so called "global" Applescript variables, that you can set in one pipe and access in another:
My minutes
My hours
My quote
My weeks
My days
My pi (will initialize to 3.14...., but can be overwritten)
My linefeed
My text item delimiters
My print depth
My print length
This will allow you to set a variable in one Applescript pipe and then use an "If, Then" statement in another. This is very useful for outputting multiple MIDI events with one keystroke.
The variables will persist for the term of the MIDIpipe session.
Stublito
My minutes
My hours
My quote
My weeks
My days
My pi (will initialize to 3.14...., but can be overwritten)
My linefeed
My text item delimiters
My print depth
My print length
This will allow you to set a variable in one Applescript pipe and then use an "If, Then" statement in another. This is very useful for outputting multiple MIDI events with one keystroke.
The variables will persist for the term of the MIDIpipe session.
Stublito
Really Cheap Wireless Remote for MIDIpipe
I got a Mac specific bluetooth number pad. The numpad keycodes are different from the keyboard key codes (except Enter, Tab etc). I then got MIDI Keys. Two things:
MIDIkeys can run in the background (yay)
If you open the MIDIkeys package, there is an editable XML resource file that maps the keycodes to MIDI notes.
From there you send the MIDIkeys notes to MIDIpipe to trigger whatever.
You just need to avoid hitting the Mac keyboard's arrow keys, as they shift MIDIkeys' octaves (even in the background) and cannot be disabled.
Stublito
MIDIkeys can run in the background (yay)
If you open the MIDIkeys package, there is an editable XML resource file that maps the keycodes to MIDI notes.
From there you send the MIDIkeys notes to MIDIpipe to trigger whatever.
You just need to avoid hitting the Mac keyboard's arrow keys, as they shift MIDIkeys' octaves (even in the background) and cannot be disabled.
Stublito
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 16 Sep 2019, 21:42
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
I have a bass pedalboard I am building using a VooDoo Labs Digbat PX-8 to send MIDI commands to pedals to change presets via MIDI Program Changes.
The PX-8 can only send one MIDI command per button press, but I want to change settings on multiple pedals that each need different MIDI Program Change numbers.
My plan was to use MidiPipe to see the single MIDI Program Change, and send out multiple Program Change messages, but that will be later.
I am not sure if I'm not understanding how to configure MidiPipe to accept MIDI input correctly, or if my USB to MIDI adaptor's "MIDI In" is not working correctly.
My USB to MIDI adaptor is a E-MU Midi1x1. It doesn't look to be damaged.
I can verify MIDI out is working by seeing the MIDI messages in the 2nd AList tool window, and see the MIDI Program Changes on the external devices I am trying to control.
But when I send MIDI out from my PX-8 to the MIDI In jack of the E-MU adaptor, to the MidiPipe tool MIDI In (assigned to the E-MU MIDI In port), to the 1st AList tool, I don't see anything.
I have checked Audo Midi Setup, created a new config in there and the E-MUMidi1x1 shows up and is enabled.
My Pipe is:
MIDI IN (set to HiJack the E-MUMidi1x1 In)
AList
Keyboard
Message Converter (set to convert MIDI note to Program Change)
AList
MIDI Out (set to E-MUMidi1x1 Out - Screenshot shows offline now because it is unplugged while writing this post).
http://www.johnskinner.net/2019/09/pedalboard.html
I see activity lights on the E-MU adaptor when MIDI is going from the Mac out to the Pedals. But when I press a button on the PX-8 I do not see the activity lights on the E-MU adaptor. This is why I think it may be not working.
If I remove my Mac and E-MU adaptor from the pedalboard, and connect the PX-8 strait to the chain of pedals, then pressing PX-8 buttons are successfully changing my pedals (just not to desired Program Change numbers).
Is it possible that I have missed some basic step in getting midi signals from external MIDI devices, into MidiPipe?
Thanks
The PX-8 can only send one MIDI command per button press, but I want to change settings on multiple pedals that each need different MIDI Program Change numbers.
My plan was to use MidiPipe to see the single MIDI Program Change, and send out multiple Program Change messages, but that will be later.
I am not sure if I'm not understanding how to configure MidiPipe to accept MIDI input correctly, or if my USB to MIDI adaptor's "MIDI In" is not working correctly.
My USB to MIDI adaptor is a E-MU Midi1x1. It doesn't look to be damaged.
I can verify MIDI out is working by seeing the MIDI messages in the 2nd AList tool window, and see the MIDI Program Changes on the external devices I am trying to control.
But when I send MIDI out from my PX-8 to the MIDI In jack of the E-MU adaptor, to the MidiPipe tool MIDI In (assigned to the E-MU MIDI In port), to the 1st AList tool, I don't see anything.
I have checked Audo Midi Setup, created a new config in there and the E-MUMidi1x1 shows up and is enabled.
My Pipe is:
MIDI IN (set to HiJack the E-MUMidi1x1 In)
AList
Keyboard
Message Converter (set to convert MIDI note to Program Change)
AList
MIDI Out (set to E-MUMidi1x1 Out - Screenshot shows offline now because it is unplugged while writing this post).
http://www.johnskinner.net/2019/09/pedalboard.html
I see activity lights on the E-MU adaptor when MIDI is going from the Mac out to the Pedals. But when I press a button on the PX-8 I do not see the activity lights on the E-MU adaptor. This is why I think it may be not working.
If I remove my Mac and E-MU adaptor from the pedalboard, and connect the PX-8 strait to the chain of pedals, then pressing PX-8 buttons are successfully changing my pedals (just not to desired Program Change numbers).
Is it possible that I have missed some basic step in getting midi signals from external MIDI devices, into MidiPipe?
Thanks
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: 16 Sep 2019, 21:42
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
UPDATE: I have confirmed that my USB to MIDI adapter's input was not working correctly. I used my Focusrite Clarett 8pre as a MIDI in & out for my computer, and everything works correctly.
I ALSO SOLVED ALL MY MIDI ISSUES WITH MIDIPIPE!
I also can report that it took much experimentation to learn how to achieve my desired results with MidiPipe. What I discovered is that you can create multiple "pipes" within the same saved MidiPipe config, and all are active at the same time!. These multiple pipes show up in the dropdown list on the top righ-hand side. So for my setup with my Voodoo Lab Digbat PX, I can press one button on it for preset #1, and it sends out one MIDI command for a Program Change #0 on channel 1. But I have two other MIDI commands I need to send at the same time, on different channels. These signals are to change settings on my Two Notes Le Bass pre amp pedal on MIDI channel 2, and to change settings on my Sound Sculptures AB Cadarbra on MIDI channel 16.
The Solution:
In MidiPipe I have a "pipe" setup named "Preset1" that has two "Message Factory" tools in it. The first "Message Factory" tool has a trigger for a Program Change message minimum of 0 and a Program Change maximum of 0, then it creates a new message that is a Program Change message on channel 16 with a data value of 4, to change settings on my AB Cadabra. The second "Message Factory" tool has the same trigger as the previous tool, but creates a new message that is a Program Change message on channel 2 with a data value of 15, to change settings on my Le Bass. Then I just duplicated this "pipe" and named it "Preset2", set the trigger to be Program Change message minimum of 1 and a Program Change maximum of 1, and edited the new messages to make the changes I needed for that preset.
MidiPipe is awesome!!
Now I just hope that in the future I can get something like a Midi Solutions Event Processor Plus to achieve the same results on my pedalboard, without the need to have my computer as part of my pedalboard
I ALSO SOLVED ALL MY MIDI ISSUES WITH MIDIPIPE!
I also can report that it took much experimentation to learn how to achieve my desired results with MidiPipe. What I discovered is that you can create multiple "pipes" within the same saved MidiPipe config, and all are active at the same time!. These multiple pipes show up in the dropdown list on the top righ-hand side. So for my setup with my Voodoo Lab Digbat PX, I can press one button on it for preset #1, and it sends out one MIDI command for a Program Change #0 on channel 1. But I have two other MIDI commands I need to send at the same time, on different channels. These signals are to change settings on my Two Notes Le Bass pre amp pedal on MIDI channel 2, and to change settings on my Sound Sculptures AB Cadarbra on MIDI channel 16.
The Solution:
In MidiPipe I have a "pipe" setup named "Preset1" that has two "Message Factory" tools in it. The first "Message Factory" tool has a trigger for a Program Change message minimum of 0 and a Program Change maximum of 0, then it creates a new message that is a Program Change message on channel 16 with a data value of 4, to change settings on my AB Cadabra. The second "Message Factory" tool has the same trigger as the previous tool, but creates a new message that is a Program Change message on channel 2 with a data value of 15, to change settings on my Le Bass. Then I just duplicated this "pipe" and named it "Preset2", set the trigger to be Program Change message minimum of 1 and a Program Change maximum of 1, and edited the new messages to make the changes I needed for that preset.
MidiPipe is awesome!!
Now I just hope that in the future I can get something like a Midi Solutions Event Processor Plus to achieve the same results on my pedalboard, without the need to have my computer as part of my pedalboard

Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hello,
I am trying to control Reaper with the controller "Korg nanoKONTROL2", and everything is going fine, but i would like to switch midi channel using track buttons in order to control channels 1 to 8 with midi channel 1, channels 9 to 16 with midi channel 2,...
I am working with MacOS Catalina, and my last try has been using MidiPipe, but i am not able to make it work.
Could you help me, please?
Thank you!
I am trying to control Reaper with the controller "Korg nanoKONTROL2", and everything is going fine, but i would like to switch midi channel using track buttons in order to control channels 1 to 8 with midi channel 1, channels 9 to 16 with midi channel 2,...
I am working with MacOS Catalina, and my last try has been using MidiPipe, but i am not able to make it work.
Could you help me, please?
Thank you!
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hello,
I'm looking for some help setting up with MidiPipe... This tool seems extremely powerful but I can't get it to do even the most basic feat so I'm hoping there is a simple solution that I'm not seeing.
I have a Midi Fighter 3D controller that I'd like to remap the notes on before sending into Logic Pro X.
I created a MidiPipe that goes:
- MIDI In - MidiFighter 3D, "hijacked"
- Key Mapper - Key In: C2 ... Key Out F#2 (Solo selected "Key in", unchecked)
- Keyboard
- MIDI Out - MidiPipe Output 1 ("Use Note Off Velocity", unchecked ... "Pass Through", unchecked)
I've saved these settings as a MidiPipe ".mipi".
In Logic Pro X, I've got my Drum Machine Designer track selected and I can trigger everything with the Midi Fighter 3D, but there are NO CHANGES in the triggered notes. MidiPipe doesn't seem to be doing anything. The Key Mapper is not affecting the pipe at all... I can confirm this because the Keyboard module in the Pipe (placed directly after the Key Mapper) shows no adjustment in the notes being played. I've programmed it to change a C2 to a F#2, but the keyboard module still highlights a C2 and Drum Machine Designer still plays the C2 sample in Logic.
The strange thing is that if I press the preset button marked "Invert" in the Key Mapper module in MidiPipe (instead of my custom setting of C2-F#2) THEN the Key Mapper's effects can be heard in Logic and visually confirmed in the MidiPipe Keyboard module ... but then switching back to my custom setting of C2-F#2 (without changing anything else) and the Key Mapper does nothing / stops working again.
@nicowald or anyone else, can you help me out at all?
Please and thanks in advance.
Yahenda
I'm looking for some help setting up with MidiPipe... This tool seems extremely powerful but I can't get it to do even the most basic feat so I'm hoping there is a simple solution that I'm not seeing.
I have a Midi Fighter 3D controller that I'd like to remap the notes on before sending into Logic Pro X.
I created a MidiPipe that goes:
- MIDI In - MidiFighter 3D, "hijacked"
- Key Mapper - Key In: C2 ... Key Out F#2 (Solo selected "Key in", unchecked)
- Keyboard
- MIDI Out - MidiPipe Output 1 ("Use Note Off Velocity", unchecked ... "Pass Through", unchecked)
I've saved these settings as a MidiPipe ".mipi".
In Logic Pro X, I've got my Drum Machine Designer track selected and I can trigger everything with the Midi Fighter 3D, but there are NO CHANGES in the triggered notes. MidiPipe doesn't seem to be doing anything. The Key Mapper is not affecting the pipe at all... I can confirm this because the Keyboard module in the Pipe (placed directly after the Key Mapper) shows no adjustment in the notes being played. I've programmed it to change a C2 to a F#2, but the keyboard module still highlights a C2 and Drum Machine Designer still plays the C2 sample in Logic.
The strange thing is that if I press the preset button marked "Invert" in the Key Mapper module in MidiPipe (instead of my custom setting of C2-F#2) THEN the Key Mapper's effects can be heard in Logic and visually confirmed in the MidiPipe Keyboard module ... but then switching back to my custom setting of C2-F#2 (without changing anything else) and the Key Mapper does nothing / stops working again.
@nicowald or anyone else, can you help me out at all?
Please and thanks in advance.
Yahenda
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 11 Jan 2021, 13:42
Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hello, is this FAQ still active? I found MidiPipe since want to create a distribution filter für MIDI notes. The idea is, to play multiple monophonic synths with one MIDI controller keyboard. I need some filter, that is able to distribute note one to MIDI channel 1, not two to MIDI channel 2... and so on. So each connected synths acts as one voice in a polyphonic ensemble. i.e. four monophonic synths witzh the same presets but different channels would act like one foure voice polyphonic synth.
Could this be done with MIDIpipe?
Could this be done with MIDIpipe?
Re: MIDI Distribution Filter
You would need Applescript.
For the MIDI distribution, each (output channel or port) synth would have a separate pipe. I'm guessing that ANY note off would stop all notes.
For 4 notes, you would need to use Applescript to set 8 global variables (one each for the current note and velocity for each target synth). And one more global for "Note Off Status."
So, pseudocode..
IMPUT PROCESSING PIPE
Take first note/velocity and store in variables 1 and 2.
Take the second note ..... 3 and 4
etc.
NOTE OFF PROCESSOR
If any note off received, set NOTE OFF variable to "1" for a short time and THEN
a) set NOTE OFF to "0" again.
b) delete all note/velocity variables
OUTPUT PROCESSING 4 PIPES
Read note variables and pass them to whatever port.
I have previously posted a list of Applescript global variables to be used in MIDIpipe.
Hope this helps,
Stublito
For the MIDI distribution, each (output channel or port) synth would have a separate pipe. I'm guessing that ANY note off would stop all notes.
For 4 notes, you would need to use Applescript to set 8 global variables (one each for the current note and velocity for each target synth). And one more global for "Note Off Status."
So, pseudocode..
IMPUT PROCESSING PIPE
Take first note/velocity and store in variables 1 and 2.
Take the second note ..... 3 and 4
etc.
NOTE OFF PROCESSOR
If any note off received, set NOTE OFF variable to "1" for a short time and THEN
a) set NOTE OFF to "0" again.
b) delete all note/velocity variables
OUTPUT PROCESSING 4 PIPES
Read note variables and pass them to whatever port.
I have previously posted a list of Applescript global variables to be used in MIDIpipe.
Hope this helps,
Stublito
AppleScript Keystrokes in macOS 11?
I have been trying to use MIDIPipe’s AppleScript tool to do keystroke emission to other apps. The basic mechanism is working. I can check for the desired incoming MIDI events and do stuff like ‘tell application “Finder” to say “Hello”’ but if I do ‘tell application “System Events” to keystroke “1”’ it doesn’t work. It won’t even cause that keystroke to appear in other apps e.g. TextEdit. Not only that but if I do the Keystroke ‘tell’ and then the Say ‘tell’ in the same if-block for the desired MIDI event, then the Say doesn’t happen, which would indicate that the Keystroke ‘tell’ attempt aborted the script execution. I do have the Accessibility settings correct according to the Apple docs, and the rest of what I’m doing matches various tutorials I’ve found on YouTube etc. The other app is in focus and the script is syntactically correct. I am wondering if there are additional security settings in macOS 11 which are breaking this? I don’t have access to an older Mac to try it there. Any assistance gratefully received. Thanks.
Re: AppleScript Keystrokes in macOS 11?
I had a friend try the same thing on his older Macs, one running Mojave, and the other running Catalina.
On the Mojave one, it all worked as expected. On the Catalina one it fails on that the same way as it does on mine, even though the system settings and the way they are configured are identical (trivial approval of MIDIPipe to send to Finder for "say", and admin enabling of MIDIPipe in System Preferences -> Accessibility to send keystrokes). Just a "say", or a "say" first, works fine. Keystrokes abort the script.
If it's in Catalina, somebody else must have hit this. I need to get this working for a project next weekend. Please help if you can. Thanks.
On the Mojave one, it all worked as expected. On the Catalina one it fails on that the same way as it does on mine, even though the system settings and the way they are configured are identical (trivial approval of MIDIPipe to send to Finder for "say", and admin enabling of MIDIPipe in System Preferences -> Accessibility to send keystrokes). Just a "say", or a "say" first, works fine. Keystrokes abort the script.
If it's in Catalina, somebody else must have hit this. I need to get this working for a project next weekend. Please help if you can. Thanks.
Re: AppleScript Keystrokes in macOS 11?
Solved. I should have hypothesized earlier that it might be in Catalina too, and then I might have found this sooner:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/549 ... keystrokes
Basically, the automatic addition of MIDIPipe to the approved list in System Preferences -> Accessibility does not seem to do it properly. If you remove MIDIPipe from that list and re-add it manually, all is well.
- psrb125712
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 18 Jan 2021, 07:40
Workaround for a default .mipi file when the app launches Re: MidiPipe FAQ
Hi, all! I've had MidiPipe on my system for awhile, but finally got my head around how to use it and it is quickly becoming an essential tool for me.
I was looking for a way to set a specific .mipi file to be the default opened when the application is launched with no luck.
I thought I'd share the workaround I discovered. To have MidiPipe launch and open my default file, say default.mipi, all I did was added the default.mipi file to my Login Items (under System Preferences > User & Groups). Since macOS will automatically launch MidiPipe based on the file extension, doing this works just like double-clicking on a specific .mipi file from the Finder or desktop.
In any case, a nice usability enhancement for future would be to provide an option to specify a default .mipip file to be used when the application launches; for example, as a button on the main screen or on the File Open or Save dialog(s).
So far I've just explored basic input/output but have (finally) used MidiPipe to create a default configuration that handles my MIDI hardware setup, with. I'm looking forward to diving deeper and exploring the other features and resources on this thread.
Thank you, Nico, for providing this!
~ Chris
I was looking for a way to set a specific .mipi file to be the default opened when the application is launched with no luck.
I thought I'd share the workaround I discovered. To have MidiPipe launch and open my default file, say default.mipi, all I did was added the default.mipi file to my Login Items (under System Preferences > User & Groups). Since macOS will automatically launch MidiPipe based on the file extension, doing this works just like double-clicking on a specific .mipi file from the Finder or desktop.
In any case, a nice usability enhancement for future would be to provide an option to specify a default .mipip file to be used when the application launches; for example, as a button on the main screen or on the File Open or Save dialog(s).
So far I've just explored basic input/output but have (finally) used MidiPipe to create a default configuration that handles my MIDI hardware setup, with. I'm looking forward to diving deeper and exploring the other features and resources on this thread.
Thank you, Nico, for providing this!
~ Chris