Tips for getting into Development

Apple APIs and Mac audio software development
pbass

Tips for getting into Development

Post by pbass » 24 Sep 2008, 21:23

Hi,
I'm a long-time computer musician (Logic in particular). I'm a composer/player and a real right-brain kinda guy, so maybe I'm not really cut out for this, but I'minterested in learning some programming language(s) so I can develop music/audio-related software for the Mac, whether new effects, instruments, standalone applications, etc. Of course, I have mountains of ideas;)
I've NEVER done any kind of programming before. Can anyone suggest a good place to start, music/audio related or not? I assume I need to start with a ubiquitous language like C or something (of course, I know nothing about what it is).
Any books or sites that would be good for me to explore to see if I really DO want to go down this path? The other angle here for me is to learn another way to make few bucks programming (but I realize as a newbie that's prolly a looooong way off). Any thoughts greatly appreciated. It all sounds pretty intimidating, but I'm really intrigued to get my hands dirty . . .

renderingtodeath
Site Supporter

Post by renderingtodeath » 25 Sep 2008, 01:40

Hmmm, what speaks against these?

http://www.plogue.com/index.php?option= ... &Itemid=35

http://www.cycling74.com/products/max5

You will need have to learn everytime from a certain point.
These softwares will let you do interesting things also from a very basic point and let you dive into high complexity.
OSXYZ

mobilegazer

Post by mobilegazer » 25 Sep 2008, 04:50

looking into this myself, actually. i'm also a complete newbie in this regard, so take my reply with a grain (or ton) of salt.