Auto Tune to MIDI

Effects and signal processing hardware, plug-ins, presets, impulse responses
Post Reply
mauisun
Posts: 117
Joined: 22 Apr 2004, 10:48
Location: Thailand

Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by mauisun » 21 Oct 2009, 18:07

Is there a way to capture a midi file from a performance that Auto Tune is tracking?

Say i tracked an acoustic guitar solo and am running it through Auto Tune....Auto Tune is "seeing" the notes and all that note activity is showing up in the keyboard at the bottom.....Is there a way to get a midi file of that ?.....should be I would think.....
http://www.bobbysbackingtracks.com/
Logic 9.1.8 Imac 3.4 i7...12gb ram...10.7.5 .Apogee ensemble...various 3rd party plugs

WaveTable
Posts: 273
Joined: 30 Jul 2009, 03:40

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by WaveTable » 22 Oct 2009, 07:40

If I remember rightly Logic has a function to create midi from audio recordings, this works best for monophonic material.

Google is your friend!
Logic Pro 9, Live 8.

mauisun
Posts: 117
Joined: 22 Apr 2004, 10:48
Location: Thailand

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by mauisun » 22 Oct 2009, 09:10

Yes Logic does but i dont think its pitch related [SPAM]
http://www.bobbysbackingtracks.com/
Logic 9.1.8 Imac 3.4 i7...12gb ram...10.7.5 .Apogee ensemble...various 3rd party plugs

WaveTable
Posts: 273
Joined: 30 Jul 2009, 03:40

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by WaveTable » 22 Oct 2009, 10:12

It is. You use the Sample Editor's function "audio to score", page 588 of the logic pro 9 manual. Or search the manual in preview using the phrase "audio to score".

Note:
"You can use “Audio to Score” to transform a monophonic audio recording into musical
notation by creating a MIDI region that corresponds to the recorded melody.
Note: Good results can be achieved using clearly identifiable, monophonic audio material.
This function is best-suited to producing melody notes from a clearly sung non-legato
vocal line. It works best on unprocessed audio—that is, audio without effects."
Logic Pro 9, Live 8.

mauisun
Posts: 117
Joined: 22 Apr 2004, 10:48
Location: Thailand

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by mauisun » 22 Oct 2009, 10:16

Wave...yeah thank you im familiar with it and have implemented it but i think with auto tune all that data is already there all pitched out..they should work on creating something that could be really useful...i think it would be east for them
http://www.bobbysbackingtracks.com/
Logic 9.1.8 Imac 3.4 i7...12gb ram...10.7.5 .Apogee ensemble...various 3rd party plugs

mauisun
Posts: 117
Joined: 22 Apr 2004, 10:48
Location: Thailand

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by mauisun » 22 Oct 2009, 20:34

Well Antares just wieghed in...

At this time, Auto-Tune does not output any MIDI information from the pitch detection it does. We are considering this feature for a future release, but I can't as of yet make any promises as to whether or not this will be implemented.

Lucas Bantner
Antares Audio Technologies
http://www.bobbysbackingtracks.com/
Logic 9.1.8 Imac 3.4 i7...12gb ram...10.7.5 .Apogee ensemble...various 3rd party plugs

tomphibian
Posts: 1
Joined: 24 Feb 2011, 10:09

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by tomphibian » 24 Feb 2011, 10:23

Does anybody know if Auto-Tune has added this functionality since the last post over a year ago? Did you find another solution?

redlogic
Posts: 67
Joined: 13 Nov 2008, 00:40

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by redlogic » 24 Feb 2011, 12:10

Some of the Melodyne products can export a MIDI file.
Mac Pro 2x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon with 9 GB RAM, OS X 10.6.8, Logic Pro 9.1.8, RME FireFace 400, UAD-2 Quad

User avatar
gdoubleyou
Posts: 787
Joined: 20 Sep 2002, 16:09
Location: kirkland WA
Contact:

Re: Auto Tune to MIDI

Post by gdoubleyou » 03 Mar 2011, 18:09

redlogic wrote:Some of the Melodyne products can export a MIDI file.
True, works fairly well also. I haven't tried the feature since DNA was added, I'll have to check it out.

8)
G-Dub

2GHz quad i7 MBP
Logic 9.1.8, LPX.0.4, OSX 10.8.5
Apollo Duo

Post Reply