IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Effects and signal processing hardware, plug-ins, presets, impulse responses
Post Reply
trapse2
Posts: 142
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:14
Location: London

IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by trapse2 » 29 Jun 2010, 19:43

Hi all,

I need to get a new amp simulator to use in Pro Tools. Which is better Ik Amplitube 3 or Pro Tools Eleven ??

Amplitube is considerably cheaper - but IK have a tedious authorisation method which almost is enough to make me not bother ( why don;t they just use i-lok ??? )

Anyway, any advice would be greatly appreciated !!


thanks
macbook 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GB RAM / pro tools LE 7.3.1 /
www.myspace.com/rekindlepurehearts

Slovenec
Posts: 1328
Joined: 09 May 2005, 04:20

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by Slovenec » 29 Jul 2010, 18:46

Amplitube 3 offers a lot more for the money..... all of what Amplitube 2 has to offer plus Amplitube Metal, Jimi Hendricks and a heap more amps and fx thrown in including quite a bit new for bass players.

The authorisation system for IK is a bit cumbersome but it's ok if you have you computer hooked up to the internet. If you're computer isn't connected, that's when things are very painful.

I think that Digi really have to add a lot more to Eleven to make it comparable to Ampltibue 3, Podfarm 2 or Guitar Rig 4.
Imac i7 3.4 ghz 16GB RAM Logic Pro 9 Protools 10 Reason 7
MIDITEK MUSIC PRODUCTION, RECORDING & TUITION: Backing Tracks, Demos & Albums.

trapse2
Posts: 142
Joined: 30 Nov 2006, 14:14
Location: London

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by trapse2 » 30 Jul 2010, 02:19

thanks Slovenic. I got Amplitube 3.
How do you think it compares to Logic's guitar amps? They seem pretty good.
macbook 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GB RAM / pro tools LE 7.3.1 /
www.myspace.com/rekindlepurehearts

davey boy
Posts: 78
Joined: 17 May 2004, 10:03

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by davey boy » 02 Aug 2010, 08:03

I use A3 all the time and pick it over many other amp sims I have (waves, Logic, Gtr Rig4, etc). I think it's a little more "real" sounding. I also do a fair amount of reamping using 4 different amps, an array of boutique distortion boxes, expensive mics, pres and converters but most of the time I just keep the amplitube version as me and my clients are happy with it. That both makes me happy and pisses me off ;-). I still believe real amps rule but in terms of speed and creativity I love to just plug in and go, not worrying about mike choices and placement, etc.
Dave
http://www.dbwproductions.com
2.8 ghz 8 core, DP 7.2, Logic 9.1.1 PT LE 7.4.2, tons of other stuff, real studio great for
composers and producers!

Slovenec
Posts: 1328
Joined: 09 May 2005, 04:20

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by Slovenec » 02 Aug 2010, 19:39

I've just upgraded to Amplitube 3 and am looking foward to playing around with it.[SPAM] once IK allow me to access my user area! Their screwed up password policy doesn't allow me to currently access anything even with my own password!!!! Go figure.
Imac i7 3.4 ghz 16GB RAM Logic Pro 9 Protools 10 Reason 7
MIDITEK MUSIC PRODUCTION, RECORDING & TUITION: Backing Tracks, Demos & Albums.

Slovenec
Posts: 1328
Joined: 09 May 2005, 04:20

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by Slovenec » 02 Aug 2010, 19:40

I personally prefer Amplitube 3 to the Logic Guitar stuff. I also hope that Apple add more for bass players in the next version of Logic.
Imac i7 3.4 ghz 16GB RAM Logic Pro 9 Protools 10 Reason 7
MIDITEK MUSIC PRODUCTION, RECORDING & TUITION: Backing Tracks, Demos & Albums.

User avatar
dauntless
Posts: 73
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 11:02
Location: sydney, australia
Contact:

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by dauntless » 06 Sep 2010, 19:48

Was interested in this as well. Seems like a lot of people are buying into A3. Reading a lot of positive reviews online. Overloud are another company to look out for and their amp sim plugin is killer.

I just recently bought the IK Multi 5 for 1 deal and yeah... the registration process sucks....
makes me just want to use the crack! lol

oh well... i slept better at night.... i think.

d
Check out my Review of the Blue Snowball USB Microphone Microphone. It Rocks!
Click here for info on the Zoom H2
Check out my Zoom H1 Review

discosteve
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Jan 2011, 22:55

Amplitube 3 in Pro Tools 9

Post by discosteve » 24 Jan 2011, 23:01

Ok, So I got Amplitube 3 installed however it is not popping up under my Instrument inserts within Pro Tools 9. Can anyone help me with this? :scratch:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

davey boy
Posts: 78
Joined: 17 May 2004, 10:03

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by davey boy » 25 Jan 2011, 06:48

I think it's under "harmonic." If it's not there you might want to confirm you installed it be looking in your rtas plug in folder.
Dave
http://www.dbwproductions.com
2.8 ghz 8 core, DP 7.2, Logic 9.1.1 PT LE 7.4.2, tons of other stuff, real studio great for
composers and producers!

discosteve
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Jan 2011, 22:55

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by discosteve » 25 Jan 2011, 16:48

Thanks so much. I must have just over looked it because I was expecting it to be in instrument. It is under "harmonic." Thank you.

macjiro
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Dec 2009, 16:23

Re: IK Amplitube 3 vs Pro Tools Eleven ??

Post by macjiro » 13 Jun 2011, 14:09

How does A3 compare to Eleven where it comes to replicating a Boogie head? Which would you use for more heavier style?

Post Reply