Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

The place to talk about Reason, ReCycle and all related Propellerhead software & hardware
Post Reply
JHNguyen
Posts: 28
Joined: 30 Dec 2005, 03:26

Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

Post by JHNguyen » 21 Nov 2007, 11:04

Hello,
I was wondering if anyone could help me out? Any time I plug in my sustain pedal, it actually works the exact opposite way it should. When I'm not holding down the pedal, everything is sustaining, when I do press down, it doesn't sustain at all. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks
MBP 2.0 ghz intel core duo. 2 gigs of ram. Reason 4.

User avatar
n8ontrike
Posts: 162
Joined: 09 Nov 2003, 22:26
Location: Knoxville, TN
Contact:

Post by n8ontrike » 21 Nov 2007, 11:09

Check your sustain pedal to see if there is a switch on it anywhere.

I had the same problem until I realized there was a switch to flip it.

JHNguyen
Posts: 28
Joined: 30 Dec 2005, 03:26

Post by JHNguyen » 22 Nov 2007, 10:11

Hey,
No switch.. This happens when in garageband as well. This also happend on a midi controller I had a while ago.. at first it works. But once I connect it to reason, everything becomes inverted and it stays that way.
MBP 2.0 ghz intel core duo. 2 gigs of ram. Reason 4.

OID
Posts: 209
Joined: 28 May 2007, 09:04
Location: Greenville, NC
Contact:

Post by OID » 24 Nov 2007, 21:12

What kind of sustain pedal are you using? If it is an old sustain pedal, maybe a switch inside has jiggled around or, it might just not function properly with newer equipment.

Eli
Mac OS X 10.4.9, Pro Tools 7.4, MBox 2 Mini, 2Ghz Macbook. stealthisfilm (dot) com

OID
Posts: 209
Joined: 28 May 2007, 09:04
Location: Greenville, NC
Contact:

Post by OID » 24 Nov 2007, 21:18

Oh, and one more thing:
If you are pressing down the pedal WHILE you plug it in, that would have the effect you mention. Just trying to cover all bases.

Eli
Mac OS X 10.4.9, Pro Tools 7.4, MBox 2 Mini, 2Ghz Macbook. stealthisfilm (dot) com

funkyappledog
Posts: 2623
Joined: 15 Jan 2004, 16:52

Post by funkyappledog » 24 Nov 2007, 23:00

In logic its easy to build a reverse for this in the enviroment,dont know about reason.
I also have a older pedal made for my old Emulator2,anyway some of these pedals are inverted compared to the normal way unfortunately.

Can you just buy a new pedal?

If you do try to get one with the invertor/phase reversal switch on it ,i think roland makes one.

JHNguyen
Posts: 28
Joined: 30 Dec 2005, 03:26

Post by JHNguyen » 25 Nov 2007, 17:27

funkyappledog wrote: Can you just buy a new pedal?
I've thought about that, but this is the 2nd pedal that's done this.. I thought it was something I was doing that was inverting it.. but I'm not sure..
MBP 2.0 ghz intel core duo. 2 gigs of ram. Reason 4.

funkyappledog
Posts: 2623
Joined: 15 Jan 2004, 16:52

Post by funkyappledog » 29 Nov 2007, 01:02

If you get one with a polarity switch on it youll be right either way

dead_red_eyes
Posts: 671
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 10:57
Location: PDX, OR
Contact:

Post by dead_red_eyes » 29 Nov 2007, 13:20

funkyappledog wrote:If you get one with a polarity switch on it youll be right either way
Definitely. Buy an M Gear sustain pedal, it has a polatiry switch, it's durable and cheap ($30 usd).
Macbook Pro ('07)[15.4", 2.16Ghz C2D, 2GB RAM, OS X 10.5.7] | Digital Performer 5.13 | Logic Pro 9.0.2 | Reason 4.0.1 | Various Soft-Synths | Alesis iO/26

Image

Dib432
Posts: 36
Joined: 15 Mar 2003, 10:31
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Post by Dib432 » 23 Mar 2008, 19:38

In logic its easy to build a reverse for this in the enviroment
How do you do this?

Ubiety
Posts: 691
Joined: 19 Jun 2004, 18:05

Re: Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

Post by Ubiety » 01 Apr 2008, 20:27

JHNguyen wrote:Hello,
I was wondering if anyone could help me out? Any time I plug in my sustain pedal, it actually works the exact opposite way it should. When I'm not holding down the pedal, everything is sustaining, when I do press down, it doesn't sustain at all. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks
Hey, I just came across your post. Don't know if you've solved your polarity problem yet, but I've had the same thing happen. I use a Roland XP-50 for a MIDI controller. The XP-50 has a System setting that will change the polarity of the Hold Pedal. The selection choices are "Standard" and "Reverse". I had to select "Reverse" in order for the hold pedal to work properly. There is also a setting to apply the hold pedal settings to the internal sounds, external MIDI controlled sound modules and software, or both internal and external. I have it set to "Both". So, when I use the sound modules in Reason 4 the sustain is supplied through MIDI from the XP-50.

Basically, check your MIDI controller System settings and see if there is Hold Pedal setting that will allow you to reverse the polarity of the pedal. Hope this helps!

Starterbeatz

Post by Starterbeatz » 10 Apr 2008, 09:55

thats weird try disconnecting and reconnecting

ablakes
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Apr 2009, 08:09

Re: Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

Post by ablakes » 17 Apr 2009, 08:14

I've encountered the same problem with Reason 4 and a new M-Audio KeyRig 25. Here's what works: to flip the function, step on and hold down your pedal when you plug it in to the back of your MIDI controller. (This is for older style sustain pedals that don't have a polarity switch.) It worked for me. Good luck!

Zzz
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Aug 2010, 20:38

Re: Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

Post by Zzz » 21 Aug 2010, 21:14

I encountered this issue with the sustain pedal inverted. (Pedal - Yamaha FC5 - very simple, there is no switch of any kind)
I plugged in the pedal while the keyboard was powered on, and it had the opposite effect, no matter what I did.

Resolved this by powering off the keyboard, plugging in the sustain pedal, and powering the keyboard back on with the sustain pedal already plugged in.
After that, the pedal started working correctly.

Hopefully this helps someone.

stavromueller
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Mar 2013, 14:36

Re: Reason Sustain Pedal Inverted?

Post by stavromueller » 25 Mar 2013, 14:51

Thanks Zzz

I had the exact same problem and this solved it. So the same probably goes for anyone who has a one of those basic keyboards with a non-switch sustain pedal.

Post Reply